Frame_top
YPT Home
Tickets
Support DMTC
About Auditions
Commitments
Parent Responsibilities
Frequently Asked Questions
DMTC Home

Young Performers Theatre

 

Information about YPT

 

The Davis Musical Theatre Company's Young Performers' Theatre (DMTC/YPT) is an all-volunteer organization.  Actors ages 7 through 17  may participate.  18-year-old high school students are also encouraged to participate.  No experience is required, but selection is by audition.

YPT

 

Young Performers  2013 - 2014 Season

 

The Adventures of Tom Sawyer

  • Directed by Jan Isaacson

  • Auditions: Mon, Jan 13 and Tues, Jan 14 @ 4:30 pm
    Callback: Wed, Jan 15 @ 4:30 pm
    Rehearsals Begin: Mon, Jan 20 @ 4:30 pm
    Shows: Sat, Mar 8, 15, 22, 29 and Sun, Mar 30 @ 2:15 pm and Fri, Mar 28 @ 7:15 pm
    School Show Matinees:  Thurs, Mar 20 @ 9:15 am & 12 (noon)

  •  "The classic Mark Twain story jumps off the page and comes to life in this musical adaptation of America's favorite book. THE ADVENTURES OF TOM SAWYER is the irresistible story of a young boy growing up in the heartland of America.  Set in 1840 Missouri, it is the tale of young Tom Sawyer and the never ending mischief of which he so often finds himself a part of; whether it's matching wits with Aunt Polly, tricking his friends into white-washing a fence for him, or narrowly escaping the clutches of a murderous villain. Along with best friend Huckleberry Finn and love interest Becky Thatcher, the greatest Tom Sawyer exploits are plucked from the book and plopped on the stage.  Aside from having one of the most recognizable titles from literary history, this musical piece is a superb family-friendly show"                   

  •  

    The Emperor's New Clothes

    Directed by Jan Isaacson

    Auditions: Mon, Mar 10 and Tues, Mar 11 @ 4:30 pm
    Callbacks:  Wed., Mar 12 @ 4:30 pm
    Rehearsals Begin:  Mon, Mar17 @ 4:30 pm
    Shows: Sat, May 3, 10, 17, 24 and Sun May 25 @ 2:15 pm and Fri., May 23 @ 7:15 pm
    School Show Matinees:  Thurs, May 22 @ 9:15 am & 12 (noon)

     


    The Emperor's New Clothes, (Prince Street Players' Version)

    B
    ook by  Jim Eiler
    ,

    Music by  Jim Eiler and Jeanne Bargy,

    Lyrics by  Jim Eiler.

    Based on the classic story by Hans Christian Andersen

    Two con-men "play the palace" in this breezy adaptation of Hans Christian Andersen's well-known satirical tale. Mr. Stitch and Mr. Sew wreak havoc at Wits Ends Palace when they present the Emperor with a special gift: an exquisitely beautiful "magic" suit of clothes, invisible to all but the wisest of men. THE EMPEROR'S NEW CLOTHES is a charming exploration of the dangers of vanity, with a host of hilarious characters that includes a brassy, tap-dancing bugle-playing Empress. " 

    More Information

     

    What young performers (and parents) need to know

     

     

    A little history

     

     

    01.18.2014